Author Topic: The Advice Thread  (Read 3789 times)

Holly

• VCUBs
  • Speeding into the horizon
  • Twin Stars
    • View Profile
The Advice Thread
« on: April 18, 2003, 01:24:49 pm »
just post your advice... maybe it'll help someone..

any advice... whether it's advice about boys/girls, sports, singing, how to play an instrument.. etc!

the only rule is dont purposly give bad advice! lol
"i'm willing to do anything
to calm the storm in my heart
i've never been the praying kind
but lately i've been down upon my knees
not looking for a miracle
just a reason to believe"

Holly

• VCUBs
  • Twin Stars
    • View Profile
The Advice Thread
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 01:52:54 pm »
If your trying to be a singer... there are a few things you need to know:
I’m not an expert in any way… trust me! But in the past few weeks I’ve learned a lot… and though I don’t know how to do a lot of the techniques correctly… I thought I’d share them. Right now I’m learning the hardest song I’ve ever song for a concert, so singing is one of my focuses now.
Use your whole lungs… usually people just only use the upper lungs. But it’s almost like you have to breathe from your stomach, that’s what it should look like. And standing straight helps this because it keeps your ribs from pushing down on your lungs. Once I learned to breathe, singing feels like a work out now and I’m able to get more of those high notes out and hold notes longer! And it’s also important to breath in the right places… I always miss where I’m supposed to breathe and almost pass out when I get to the places where I have to hold a note a long time…